6-10-2010: Indian Princely states Miniature Sheet


The princely state of India was also called the nominal sovereign of the Indian Empire. It was an entity not directly ruled by the British, but a form of governance by an Indian ruler under subsidiary alliance supremacy. On this occasion, the Indian Postal Department released a set of four Indian Princely states’ miniature sheets. When India and Pakistan became independent, there were officially 565 princely states that contracted with viceroys to provide public services and tax collection. They entered the newly independent nations between 1947 and 1949, and all princes were pensioned off. At the time of the British, 565 princely states were officially recognized in the Indian subcontinent, besides thousands of zamindaris and jagirs.

Buy Indian Princely states Miniature Sheet from Philacy.com